Ashli's Page
 
This poem was very, VERY, difficult to write. I had to try and put myself in my peer's shoes, head, and body in order to create this piece. I do not know the details of what happened in my peer's experience . However, I really tried to create a poem that would get his story across. I hope you enjoy it.

"A Visit To Grandpa's"

We used to visit him, every single year.
Out in California, though we were far, far, from the piers.
Grandpa lived on a quaint and little farm.
He was very benign; he would never cause a soul any harm.
He was adept in farming, he had done it since he was a lad.
And working with him side by side, made me oh-so very glad.

So when it was time to go back and see him, I was excreting joy.
Because Grandpa was the coolest grandpa I'd met in my 12 years of being a boy.
Mom, Dad, and Sis seemed to be taking forever
to get everything packed and get themselves together.
I really wished they would have hurried up, we wouldn't have time to lose
But I didn't know that until later, so I am not in the position to accuse.

When we pulled up to the farm, what seemed to be years later.
The first thing I did was run to the field and check me and Grandpa's growing tomaters.
They were as round as Saturn, and as red as Mars.
I couldn't wait to tell Grandpa, his eyes would light up like stars.

I met up with my family as they walked through the door.
Dad was saying something about how Grandpa's hearing could be getting poor.
Apparently when they knocked, he hadn't come like normal.
So they just broke into the house (I didn't think that was very formal)
But then I noticed it was pretty quiet in the house.
You could have probably heard the talk between the threads in my mother's blouse.

My mother called for Grandpa, my dad, and even Sis,
He didn't answer either time, and then my tummy started to twist.
Grandpa was kind of old... but he was still on top of his game!
He was probably just beguiling us! He had to have heard us when we came.
But then a heart-suppressing gasp came from his room,
Where everyone had migrated, while I was trying to destroy what I had already assumed.

There he was, in his bed, laying there peaceful as ever.
"Come on now, Grandpa," I  thought, "your game is no longer clever."
But he never got up, no "Rawr!", no "Blegghh!", not even a simple "Boo."
Dad called 911, even though I knew that he already knew.
Sirens were coming at us and tears started flowing like a tidal wave,
I cried too, even though I knew Grandpa would want me to be brave.

Needless to say, that was my last time seeing him, on that unfortunate day,
It was sad then, but it showed me that we are only guaranteed today.


 
Ms. Miller
8/26/2010 10:05:08 am

Great site so far! I like your Gibran quote and your homepage intro. (We'll be reading Gibran in September, by the way.)

Reply

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.