Ashli's Page
 
Last week, we had an assignment where we had to research a poet from a different country. My poet's name was Anna Akhmatova. My favorite poem I found by her is a poem I did not read in class. It is entitled "Solitude". It is significant because it talks about how all the people that tore her down, actually ended up making her stronger.

Solitude
So many stones have been thrown at me,
That I'm not frightened of them anymore,
And the pit has become a solid tower,
Tall among tall towers.
I thank the builders,
May care and sadness pass them by.
From here I'll see the sunrise earlier,
Here the sun's last ray rejoices.
And into the windows of my room
The northern breezes often fly.
And from my hand a dove eats grains of wheat...
As for my unfinished page,
The Muse's tawny hand, divinely calm
And delicate, will finish it.

-Anna Akhmatova

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.