Ashli's Page
 
Comprehension Task
Poem
Words from Medea
He was probably off
somewhere
playing tag with fate
when my strawberry cheeks
were touched by his wit and determination.
My charms and incantations
topped
with a crimson bow
merely blinded him.

All I desired
was a small niche in his heart,
so in exchange for
an elusively sentimental ring,
I bore him a fleece
that a stranger would conclude
had to have been
touched
by Midas, himself.

His recompense?
My heart in his
eternally outstretched palm
crushed like he wasn't
conscious that it was
ever even there.

His harlot,
who had not an
eighth of the affection
I once
possessed, found her
toxic demise
stitched in her wedding dress.
Then, I laid incisions upon
our,
my, posterity,
their tainted genes
finally able to run
free from their veins.

Oh the sight of you,
you lone being!
Your detrimental actions
brought this
fate to you; how do you feel as 
I sit on the highest
possible throne
while you perch on the bow
of your dilapidated ship,
rotting.
rotting.

Hate will never mend the
Broken Heart.
Revenge however,
always,
alleviates the pain.


Comprehension Task
Comic Strip
This is my comic strip about based on the scene in the story of Ali Baba when his brother Cassim gets trapped in the cave.


Application Task
In the story of Midas, the king made a decision (that proved to be dumb) to make everything that he touched turn to gold. This decision almost ruined his life. He realized what he had done was wrong, and asked to reverse it. The wish was reversed, but there was a humiliating consequence. When I heard this story, I thought of Kanye West. He is, in my opinion, a very talented musician and producer, but he has made some fatuous decisions, that have made him look very foolish. I would say his most infamous mistake was when he interrupted Taylor Swift during her acceptance speech at the MTV Music Video Awards, saying his view on her win. Like Midas, he realized what he did wasn't a really good idea and tried to make things right. However, also like Midas, there were repercussions. For more on this story, you can click this link.
Nazma
2/4/2011 12:18:27 am

I think you used a lot of good vocabulary in your poem, it was great! However, instead of having three different blog entries for each task, you have one blog entry for all of them.

Reply
Bailey
2/4/2011 01:22:54 am

This was a really emotionally descriptive poem. It had me thinking like Medea which is hard to do because her thoughts aren't sane, but the way you relay her reasoning is really impressive.

Reply
2/4/2011 01:36:06 am

All of your tasks were thoroughly accomplished. I liked your choice of words in your poem. Your application task was good, even though a lot of people compared Kanye to Narcissus. Also, I didn't see your comic.

Reply
Ms. Miller
2/13/2011 09:43:46 am

Great effort with figurative language in the poem! Grade: 100%. Some of my favorite lines:
"playing tag with fate"
"my charms...topped with a crimson bow"
"our/my posterity"
"their tainted genes...able to run free from their veins"

Comic 50%. Nothing appears.

Connection 100%. Decent connection between Midas and Kanye.

Reply

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.