Ashli's Page
 
Autobiography of a Face is the life story of Lucy Grealy: a lady living without part of her jaw . In the first chapter of the book, she describes her jaw colliding with a girl named Joni's head during a game of dodge ball in the fourth grade. Joni did not have a belligerent nature; she was simply going for the same ball as Lucy when the accident occurred. The collision caused something to go terribly wrong in Lucy's mouth. The doctors first thought that her tooth was just pushed back into her gum, but it would end up being something much, much worse.

So far, the book is pretty entertaining. The prologue was kind of boring, but the actual book after that is interesting. Lucy Grealy has a type of dry humor that I appreciate a lot. My favorite part of the book so far  - the part that actually made me laugh out loud - was right after she ran into Joni. She describes her experience with a teacher, Ms. Minkin, asking her if she was okay. The passage goes as follows:
""Are you all right, dear?"
Interrupted in my twilight, I looked up to see Mrs. Minkin, who was on playground duty that afternoon. She fell into the category of "scary" adults, and from there into the subcategory of adults "with cooties." In her plaid wool skirts and thick makeup, luridly ugly to schoolchildren's eyes, Mrs. Minkin was not someone to whom I was willing to admit distress.
"I'm fine, thank you.""

I think that the theme in the book right now is be who you are. If Lucy, who described herself as a "tomboy par excellence", had been herself in the game, she probably would not have gotten hit in the jaw. "...I was my face..." is a statement Grealy made in the book. I agree with the theme. You might as well be who you are; there really isn't a way you can change it.
9/12/2010 07:57:34 am

Hi Ashli. I really like your blog, especially the about me. I thought it was very creative. Good job : )

Reply

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.